Home | Fatwa | Fiqh | Eating veg. at restaurants serving pork and alcohol?

Eating veg. at restaurants serving pork and alcohol?

 

Nasihah:  The results of consuming Halaal and Haraam food:

 

Imam Shafi-ee (Rahimahullah) used to say: “When you consume Halaal, you will obey Allah, be it on your own accord or not and when you consume Haraam, you will disobey Allah be it on your own accord or not.” (Risalatul Mustarshideen)

____________________________________________________

Question and Answer:

Q. Is it possible to eat in a place that does serve alcohol and pork even if u do not drink the alcohol or eat the pork. Is it possible to eat the vegetarian food of such an establishment?

 

(Query published as received)

 

A. It is not permissible for Muslims to eat at such places regardless of selecting the vegetarian menu. The fact that alcohol and pork are being served at the same venue demands that a Muslim stays far from such a place. Rasulullah (Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallam) has  prohibited partaking of meals from the table where alcohol is being served.  Sayyiduna Jabir bin Abdillah (Radiyallahu Anhu) reports that Rasulullah (Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallam) said:

 

“Whoever truly believes in Allah and the day of Judgment, he will not sit at a table where alcohol is served”(Musnad Ahmad, Hadith #:14651)

 

 

And Allah Knows Best

 

 

Mufti Suhail Tarmahomed

 

 

Fatwa Department
Jamiatul Ulama (KZN)

Council of Muslim Theologians

223 Alpine Road, Overport, Durban

Check Also

What Qiraat to read when completing missed Rakaats

  Nasihah (Advice): The Sunnah Qiraat of Fajr & Maghrib   Sayyiduna Abdullah Ibn Masood …

Women attending universities?

Q: Is it permissible for Muslim women to receive secular education and study in universities …