Home | Global News | 6th Phase: India polls for 117 seats today

6th Phase: India polls for 117 seats today


Published — Thursday 24 April 2014

The 6th phase of the 9-phase Lok Sabha election goes to polls on Thursday that will be held in 11 states and one Union Territory. Votes will be held in 117 constituencies.

India holds polls in Tamil Nadu for 39 seats, 19 in Maharashtra, 12 in Uttar Pradesh, 10 in Madhya Pradesh, seven each in Bihar and Chhattisgarh, six each in Assam and West Bengal, five in Rajasthan, four in Jharkhand, one in Jammu and Kashmir and one in Pondicherry. Polling will normally begin at 7 a.m. and close at 6 p.m.
The political leaders made last-ditch efforts a day earlier to woo voters. Those prominent leaders whose fate is to be sealed Thursday are Congress leader Mani Shankar Iyer, PMK leader Anbumani Ramadoss and DMK leaders — Dayanidhi Maran, A Raja, TR Baalu (Tamil Nadu); actress-turned-BJP politician Hema Malini (Mathura, UP); BJP leader Sushma Swaraj (Madhya Pradesh); and Mohammad Azharuddin of Congress (Rajasthan)
Electoral authorities in Tamil Nadu have made arrangements to ensure trouble free voting by 55 million eligible voters in about 61,000 polling stations in the state. About 1.47 lakh police personnel would be on security duty in the state, said police officials.

In all, 845 candidates, including 55 women aspirants are in the poll fray.
In Chhattisgarh, campaigning for the third and last phase of elections in the state ended last evening. Polls will be held in seven parliamentary constituencies.
In Madhya Pradesh, campaigning for the 10 seats ended on Tuesday. These seats are Vidhisha, Dewas, Indore, Dhar, Ujjain. Ratlam, Mandsour, Khandwa, Khargoun and Betul. A total of 118 candidates, including 17 women, are in the fray, whose political fate will be decided by over 10.69 million voters.
Over 106,000 government employees have been engaged for the polls in the state.
In Assam, the political fate of 74 politicians will be decided on Thursday. Polling is scheduled to take place in six parliamentary seats. Over 9.4 million voters will exercise their voting rights. This phase of polling in Assam will covers Guwahati, Nagaon, Mangoldoi, Dhubri, Barpeta and Kokrajhar seats.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made for elections for five parliamentary seats in Rajasthan where 81 candidates are in the fray. Polling will take place in Alwar, Bharatpur, Dausa, Tonk-Sawai Madhopur and Karoli -Dholpur constituencies.
Over 8 million voters will decide the fate of 81 candidates.
In West Bengal six Lok Sabha constituencies will go to polls tomorrow. Over 83 lakh voters will be eligible to exercise their franchise to seal the fate of 78 candidates.

Check Also

Sri Lankan government moves to outlaw burka & close 1,000 madrasahs

After finally being forced to reverse its unacceptable and degrading policy of cremating the bodies …

Al-Aqsa: The Blessed Land: Part 2

Mar 10, 2021 Reasons Why Muslims Love Al Aqsa Palestine in general, and Jerusalem and …