Home | About Us

About Us


History of the Jamiatul Ulama (Kwa Zulu Natal) formerly Jamiatul Ulama Natal

The Jamiatul Ulama was established on the 15 January 1955 (20 Jumaadal Ula 1374) at the East Street Madrasah, in Pietermaritzburg. The primary objective was the preservation, protection and propagation of true and pristine Islam. All Praise to Allah Ta’aala, this body has evolved to become a fortress of Deen, holding aloft the banner of Islam in this era of different trials and tribulations. It was indeed a momentous occasion when our senior founder members of the Jamiat met to establish the organization which was to become the official body of religious, educational and other affairs of the Muslim Community of KwaZulu-Natal. Our senior founding members were:

Moulana Abdur Rahmaan Ansari (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)
Moulana Muhammad Hanif (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)
Moulana Ahmad Desai (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)
Moulana Ahmad Sabat (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)
Moulana Sayed Muhammad Loot (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)
Moulana Cassim Muhammad Sema (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)
Moulana Abdul Haq Omarjee (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)
Moulana Abu Bakr Khatib (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)
Moulana Muhammad Bashir Siddiqi (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)
Moulana Abdul Qadir (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)
Moulana Yusuf Omarwadi (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)
Moulana Adam Bhayat (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)

May Allah Ta’aala grant them all the best of abodes in the Hereafter, Aameen.

Past Presidents of the Jamiatul Ulama (KZN) have been:
Moulana Abdur Rahmaan Ansari (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)
Moulana Abdul Haq Omarjee (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)
Moulana Yunus Patel (Rahmatullahi Alayhi)
Moulana Haroon Abbassoomar (Rahmatullahi Alayhi )
Mufti Ebrahim (EMH) Salejee (Damat barakatuhu)
Moulana Mahmood Madni Desai (Rahmathullahi Alaihi)

May Allah Ta’aala reward them for their great contribution, Ameen


Current Executive Members of the Jamiatul Ulama KZN

Working Committee

Ameer  – Moulana Ahmed Mahomedy

Deputy Ameer – Moulana Shabbeer Asmal

Secretary General – Moulana Rafiek Mohamed

Deputy Secretary General – Mufti Moosa Salie

Treasurer – Moulana Zaakir Jadwat

Deputy Treasurer – Moulana Irshaad Amod

Personnel Officer – Moulana Huzaifah Ebrahim


District Officers/Executive Members:

Moulana Ismail Akoo – Newcastle
Moulana Saleem Karrim – Ladysmith
Moulana Ashraf Manack – Estcourt
Moulana Salman Kajee – Stanger
Mufti Maseeullah Kajee – Port Shepstone
Mufti Taahir Hansa – PMB
Moulana Huzaifah Cassim – Verulam
Moulana Ahmed Motara
Moulana Abdul Aziz Maluleke
Mufti Ismail Bassa
Moulana Suleiman Bhamjee
Moulana Ilyas Desai
Moulana Abdul Aziz Amod
Mufti Advocate Emraan Vawda

In-office Muftis:

Mufti Ismaeel Bassa
Mufti Moosa Salie


Activities of the Jamiat

  • Issuing of Fataawa (Decrees pertaining to Shariah matters)
  • Answering queries relating to Masaail (Rulings) of Deen via all mediums of communication received daily both nationally and internationally
  • Mediation/Arbitration of disputes
  • Mediation and Settlement of Marital Disputes
  • Marital Counseling
  • Annulment of Marriages
  • Operating and Supervision of Madrasahs and Maktabs via Jamiat Taleemi Board under the supervision of Hazrat Mufti Ebrahim Salejee and Shaykh Moulana Ilyas Patel
  • Publication of Islamic Literature (Al Jamiat)
  • Publication of Masaajid Posters
  • Welfare Relief to those undergoing difficulty with food, rentals, lights and water etc
  • Welfare Relief to refugees
  • House visits to welfare recipients
  • Relief operations
  • Stationary Project for the underprivileged
  • Winter warmth project for the underprivileged
  • Coordinating of Public Programmes for local and visiting Ulama
  • Special  programmes for Ulama, Hufaaz, Youth and general public
  • Co-ordination of the Hilaal sighting of the moon and notifying Ulama/Imaams via sms on the eve of every  Islamic month
  • Monthly Islamic Calendar for Masaajid boards
  • Dawah activities, Conversions
  • Issuing of Letters of Recommendation for Masaajid and Madrasahs
  • Allocation of scholarships and bursaries for Islamic and secular Education/Skills
  • Co -ordination of Imams  for Jumuah Bayaans and Salaah at Masaajids, Universities and Schools
  • Supervision and Co ordination of Eidgah in various areas in Durban and surrounding areas
  • SMS / E mail service to Ulama membership of +|- 450
  • Letters to various organization, media whenever necessary for the cause of the Deen
  • Jamiat.org.za Website


The Jamiatul Ulama requires your regular financial contributions and duas to continue serving the Deen of Allah Ta’aala. May Allah Ta’aala reward you abundantly, Ameen